New Commission

1st July 2014

The Parliamentary Secretary, Senator the Hon. Richard Colbeck, has announced the makeup of the new AFMA Commission. The number of part-time Commissioners has been reduced from nine to seven. The appointment and end dates for the part time Commissioners have been staggered providing for better succession in the future. The current Commission has three new members [top row];

The Hon. Norman Moore (Chair) [top left] is most recently known for his work in the Western Australian state parliament and as Minister for Fisheries, Mines and Petroleum, and Electoral Affairs.

Ms Catherine Cooper [top row, middle] currently chairs the South Australian Fisheries and Aquaculture Research Advisory Committee and Aquaculture Advisory Council. Ms. Cooper was a finalist in both the 1997 and 1998 Telstra Business Women’s Awards and is a former Chair of the Fisheries Council of South Australia.

Mr David Hall [top row, right] is the Managing Director of fish tagging manufacturing company, former Executive Director, Grape and Wine Research and Development Corporation and Director of Fisheries in South Australia and the Northern Territory. He is currently a Victor Harbor Councillor.

Current commissioners Ian Cartwright [lower left], Professor Keith Sainsbury [2nd from left lower row] and Richard Stevens [3rd from left lower row] have been reappointed for a two year term. As AFMA CEO, Dr. James Findlay [lower right] continues his role as AFMA Commissioner.

AFMA’s CEO Dr Findlay said “The current group of part time commissioners have provided outstanding leadership and guidance during their five and a half year term and I’m sure the new commission, with a mix of old and new, will build on this strong foundation.”

Senator Colbeck thanked the outgoing Chair Michael Egan, “It takes strong leadership and commitment to oversee AFMA and its responsibilities. We wish Mr Egan the very best for the future and thank him for his work as outgoing chair”. Senator Colbeck also thanked outgoing commissioners Dr John Glaister, Ms Jennifer Goddard, Ms Elizabeth Montano and Ms Denise North for their valuable contributions to AFMA.