Changes to the AFMA Commission

The Assistant Minister, Senator the Hon. Anne Ruston, has welcomed Ms Renata Brooks (middle) to the Australian Fisheries Management Authority (AFMA) Commission for a three year appointment until 30 June 2019. Commissioners Ian Cartwright [bottom left], Professor Keith Sainsbury [top right] and Richard Stevens [right] have also been re-appointed until 30 June 2019, following the extension of their initial appointment from 30 June 2016 to 30 September due to the federal election.

They join current Commissioners the Hon. Norman Moore (Chairman) [top left], Ms Catherine Cooper [bottom right] and Dr. James Findlay (AFMA CEO) [left] on the seven strong, independent, AFMA Commission as it continues to ensure sustainable fisheries for current and future generations.

Ms Brooks is an independent director and consultant and currently serves as Deputy Chair of the Fisheries Research and Development Corporation. She has held executive roles across the NSW Department of Primary Industries in the areas of science and research, agriculture, fisheries, biosecurity, compliance and mine safety, including as the Deputy Director General, Land and Natural Resources.

“In consultation with the Department of Agriculture and Water Resources, they [AFMA Commission] will work with AFMA to streamline and simplify fisheries management arrangements with the states and the Northern Territory to reduce the cost to industry and improve the management of fish stocks” Minister Ruston reiterated.

Minister Ruston and the Commission Chair both thanked outgoing Commissioner David Hall for his contributions to the Management of Commonwealth fisheries. Mr Moore especially praising Mr Hall’s “valuable insight and knowledge particularly in research and dealing with the strategic issues facing AFMA” during his tenure.

Find out more about the Commission on the AFMA website.